How to Completely and Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account
Learn how to delete your Instagram account permanently and completely. Learn how to delete your Instagram account temporarily if you want to reactivate it later.
Share This Article
Of course, the social media platform's perks do exist, but they also exist when you decide to admit it can become a major focus in your life. Of course, there's always a point where you should disconnect from social media accounts. More and more, people are making this choice because they want to avoid letting social media take over their lives. By deleting social media apps from your device or merely seeking for your own phone a minute less, eliminating your social media accounts might lead to a much healthier lifestyle.
Getting rid of your Instagram account permanently may seem like a big step, but if you are eager to regain enough time for other pursuits, it's simple to accomplish. Let's look at how to delete your Instagram permanently.
Save your Instagram data before deleting your account
Before you make the decision to leave your Facebook account or perhaps the hassles of permanently deleting your account, it is a good idea for you to backup your Facebook page settings. You may wish to bring them in line again after you have completely removed your account. When you delete your account, Facebook will do it and delete all your stuff. All of your photos, likes, comments, and friends will be removed for security reasons. To save your data, follow these steps:
- Tap the profile icon in the Instagram posting screen's lower right corner.
2. Tap the hamburger (Menu) icon in the upper right corner, then click Settings.
3. Select Security, then tap the option to Download Data to proceed.
4. Enter your email address and tap the Request Download button.
Within 48 hours, Instagram will send you an email containing your entire profile to the email address you have provided. The email will include your pictures, hashtags, comments, profile information, and other information you will want to access in the future. Even if you believe you will never need to use this information again, shutting it down is an important step toward protecting your data from being leaked or stolen if you do ever decide to access it again. If you don't do this, you'll lose all your information completely and you'll never get it back, no matter how hard you try.
How to Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account
When you've saved your data, you can click on the "Manage Your Account" button to move on to your account deletion. Instagram offers its users two options for permanently deleting their account and its content: You can erase everything completely, or you can request for the deletion to be temporarily postponed. You cannot permanently delete your Instagram account from a smartphone app, only through a desktop computer. You will be blocked from your account's moderators for up to 30 days, at which point you can completely delete it if you wish.
- Go to the special Remove Your Instagram Account page on your browser. (Make sure that you are logged in first).
2. Select a cause from the menu to delete.
3. Click or tap the Delete button to confirm your intent to withdraw.
Temporarily Delete/Disable Your Instagram Account
If you don't want to make a hasty decision, don't get rid of your profile rather than disabling it. Offline you might appear as if your account has been deleted and will be propped up by another individual in the very same profile. Your followers won't apprehend anything since your account will be gone. However, you can restore your profile at any time (even after disabling it) by simply logging back in. Follow these steps to disable your account:
- Go to Instagram.com from your browser (you cannot do this from within the app.
2. If prompted, you may log in.
3. Click the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
4. Click or tap on Profile and select Edit Profile.
5. Tap Temporarily disable my account to the right of the Submit button.
6. You will be asked to indicate why you're doing this. Choose an option from the drop-down menu.
7. Re-enter your account password again.
8. Click or tap Temporarily Disable Account.
Can’t Delete Instagram if You Can’t Log In
If you've been hacked and desire to shield your personal information, the above steps may not be as difficult as you think, but you won't have the ability to delete or disable an account unless you're logged in. Instagram can't delete or delete accounts on your behalf, either. If you cannot recall or have forgotten your password, or it has been reset by somebody else, follow the below steps to have it reset.
- Open the “Instagram app.”
- Tap “Get help logging in” under the “Login” button.
Go to the Log in button to get help logging in.
- If you have Android, choose one of the following: “Use username, email or phone,” or “Log in with Facebook.”
- If you have iOS, choose one of the following: “Username” or “Phone.”
- Follow the prompts after your selection.
If you suspect you were hacked, you may not have the ability to use this software or other methods, depending on how well the hacker was able to access your recovery information.
- Open the app.
- Tap Get help logging in under the login fields.
- Select the option that allows you to enter your username.
- Tap Need more help?
Instagram will send you prompts to follow in order to regain access to the product. It will ask you for recovery information and other details about the connected account. From here, you can follow prompts on Instagram to get in touch with your account. You'll be requested for information about your Instagram account, such as Username, password recovery info, etc.
- How long is an Instagram account deleted for?
According to Instagram, an account is deleted for "multiple violations of our terms of service," which generally means that the account has been inactive for a period of time or has violated rules multiple times. However, there is no set length for how long an account can be deleted for; it's up to Instagram's discretion.
2. Can I delete my Instagram account if I don't have a phone number associated with it?
Instagram is a social media platform where users can share photos and videos. However, if you don't have a phone number associated with your account, you cannot delete it. In order to delete your account, you'll need to contact Instagram support and provide them with your username and password.
If you like this article and found it helpful, share it with your friends and family. And do follow us on twitter, https://twitter.com/creatosaurushq